Bruce the delivery doctor

Good things DO come to those who wait…and wait…and wait…

This morning Bruce, the delivery doctor, (a lot of Bruces in this story), arrived around 10 a.m. and brought me the skid of books. I think Mr. Bruce was very touched by the profound role he played in this little drama.  My friends Rick & Treeza were here yesterday to help with the carrying of boxes into the house – but all we ended up doing was waiting – and eating and drinking wine – and no books.  Instead, I was alone to receive the truck this morning.  The sky looked like it might erupt in tears any minute (not a little bit unlike moi) and so as soon as that skid hit the ground, I moved the 42 cartons of books into my house. Amazing what adrenalin can do!  I then took a breath (one final big one) and opened a box to see Walking with Wolf.  And there it was! Beautiful!

I have much too much to do to go on right now, but wanted to at least make the big announcement before I run out to take care of some things – after being held captive in my house for two days waiting on the truck, I need to get some food.  I called Wolf to let him know, but he had just left the house to go to meeting (that’s the Quaker meeting for those of you who haven’t read the book yet or aren’t familiar) so I could only leave a message with his son Benito, who was appropriately delighted.  He said he’d track Wolf & Lucky down by phone somewhere and let them know.  Another almost anti-climatic moment, but I’m real good at working with whatever I get!

Now that it is here, I’m almost not sure of what to do next – but eating is a good idea.  I am, needless to say, a very very proud mama!

 

